Shopping is the favorite pastime for most of the young people. Why do you think is that? Do you think they should be encouraged to do some other useful activities?

There are lots of varieties how to deal with negative emotions, thoughts, stress or even more, depression, and one of the ways is shopping. Nowadays, going to the shopping mall is getting increasingly popular among the young generation yet there are some reasons for this phenomenon. However, there are a number of hobbies that can replace shopping with their more useful benefits. Some people believe that shopping is therapeutic because it can help to abstract and get pleasure from well spent time by obtaining something new. Scientists have proven that when people are going to make purchases, serotonin (the hormone of happiness) is produced which helps to get rid of negativity. But on the other hand, it is not appropriate for everyone, especially for teenagers and shopaholics who are not familiar with financial literacy and rationality which can cause material problems. In that case, here are some ideas on how to spend leisure time without any harm with more beneficial hobbies. Firstly, sport is one of the most crucial things in human life. According to scientific research, everyone should spend at least 30 minutes doing exercises outside which may help their respiration system. Secondly, knitting is getting more popular among youngsters and some people believe that it helps them to calm down and concentrate. To conclude, although some hobbies such as shopping can assist with anxiety and getting rid of negative thoughts, but do not suit everyone as outdoor activities and knitting do.