Some parents believe that learning mathematics at schools is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used in later life. Discuss both sides.

In current society, with the advent of calculator and the rise of AI, many people do not need mathematical skills. Some people believe that it is a foundational subject to be taught in school, while others point out that there is no meaning in teaching mathematics. I will explore the multifaceted nature of this trend, emphasizing child development and its usefulness in daily life. To begin with, learning mathematics from an early age provides a positive impact on children. The numerical activities enhance children's ability and flexibility. The earlier children start interacting with numbers, the smarter they tend to become. For example, one research study revealed that toddlers who learn counting numbers are better at expressing their opinions compared to those who do not possess mathematical knowledge at all. The kids who are often exposed to numbers likely manage to explain their feelings when having arguments while others fail to express their emotions and just cry or get angry. This implies that learning mathematics contributes to the development of social skills and problem-solving skills. Therefore, it is important to keep the subject of mathematics in the school carriculums curriculums. On the other hands, there are several drawbacks of learning mathematics. Despite the basic mathematical lessons in primary school, many topics that are taught in junior high school or high school are too academical. For instance there was an online poll if people have used any mathematical knowledge taught in high school in their daily life. Approximately 95% of the respondents answered that they never used it after graduating from high school. Consequently, the majority of mathematical techniques are not practical outside school. This is why many parents prefer that their children learn and experience something more helpful for their lives. To sum up, while learning mathematics is beneficial for child development, it is essential to recognize that most topics in the current mathematic curriculums are too academical to apply in daily life. The parents and teachers are required to balance these advantages and disadvantages.