Some people say libraries are important in society as a place to get information and use books. Others say as computers are advanced, libraries are a waste of money and recourses. Discuss both views and give your opinion

With the advent of internet and E-books, many cities have seen an overall decline in the use of libraries. Some people insist that libraries are important while others state that libraries are a waste of money and recourses. I will explore the multifaceted nature of this trend, emphasizing the belief that the benefits of having libraries outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, libraries provide equal educational opportunities for all. The registration of libraries is in most cases free of charge, and the users can have access to a wide range of educational items such as books, computers, newspapers, and research papers. It is a crucial study place for students who do not possess wifi and computers at home. For example, there was an online poll about alternative study places in case there is no computers at home, and the result indicates that libraries are the first alternative for high school students without computers. Consequently, the important role of libraries remains the same in contemporary society. Furthermore, the role of libraries in communities are imperative. Libraries often serve as a study room, an interesting culture centre, and an event hall. Throughout the year, multiple activities take place in libraries. If there were no libraries, people would not be able to participate in such community gatherings. Hence, it is crucial to keep libraries in the communities. However, alongside these benefits of libraries, there are certainly disadvantages. One notable challenge is a financial cost for the local governments. Libraries usually require a big plot of land, frequent update of books and magazines, and a number of employees. All of these costs a significant amount of money, and gives pressure to the annual budget of the local governments. Especially a small city struggles to allocate a sufficient amount of money to maintain libraries. To sum up, libraries bring both pros and cons. Despite the challenge of a financial cost, the benefits of having libraries are paramount. Libraries not only provides equal educational opportunities, but also serve as a community gathering place.