In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Students, formerly, completed higher education domestically. However, they now have the chance to study abroad. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this development. One significant advantage is the increase exposure to different culture. Studying abroad allows student to immerse themselves in new environment, leading to greater cultural awareness and adaptability. For example, a European scholar studying in Japan learned about the work culture, where employees are highly dedicated and work long hours, which is different from most European countries. In addition, it opens up new networking and career opportunities. International students often have access to a broader professional network, leading to enhanced job opportunities in a globalized job market. For example, young people from Africa are exposed to the possibility of applying to multinational companies in the US or Canada. On the other hand, some demerits should not be overlooked. One major drawbacks is the high cost of study in the developed countries. Even if the pupils are accepted into an overseas program, the financial pressure prevent them from pursuing the opportunity. Moreover, homesickness can significantly affect the mental condition. For instance, students facing a language barrier may struggle to make new friends, potentially leading to demotivation to continue their studies. In conclusion, while the extreme cost and mental health problems are the two main boundaries to studying abroad, these issues can often be addressed through proper planning and support services. Whereas, the option to experience different culture and gain international career, outweighs these drawbacks, which could contribute greatly to personal development.