Some people believe that using a bicycle as a main form of transportation has a lot of advantages whereas others think it has many disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Using a bicycle as a main mean of transportation has both benefits and drawbacks. This essay will examine both viewpoints and conclude my opinion in favour of advantages. One of the main advantages of taking a bike as a main transport is its great health benefit. Compared to trains and cars, riding a bicycle lets you have a cardio exercise because you need to push your pedals to move forward. For example, people who live in remote areas, they are so dependent on cars and they do not hesitate to use a car for a 5 minute ride to the nearest convenience store, which prevents them from daily physical exercises they could otherwise have. Additionally, bicycles are much more friendly to the environment, as it has zero CO2 emission, which prevents global warming. If you cycle on a daily basis as a main form of transportation, it allows you to gain physical strength and to be eco-friendly at the same time. However, bicycle has disadvantages too. One significant issue is the safety, because bicycles are much lighter than cars, the mortality rate in car accidents can be extremely higher for bikers than car drivers. Moreover, bicycles are very weather sensitive, which means you cannot ride on a bicycle if it rains or snows. If you dare to go out on a bike in a snowy day, it is very likely you slip on a road, which could lead to a fatal accident. In conclusion, while riding a bicycle as a main source of transportation has some drawbacks like the worrying safety and limited weather conditions, the advantages of health benefit and eco-friendliness far outweigh those disadvantages. Ultimately, as long as the weather is good, which fortunately always the case in Japan, and you make sure the safety by wearing a helmet, bicycles will change our life for the better.