Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or dis agree? What other measure do you think might be effective.

It is often argued that the growth of the cost of gasoline is an effective way to reduce those issues. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with that statement, as I believe that the increase in petrol price can impact negatively individuals. However, there are other useful methods to solve those problems, like improving the transportation network and encourage using eco-friendly vehicles. First of all, it is widely recognized that raising the gasoline cost can be a burden on people with low incomes. In other words, some people seem to have poor wages to cover their only basic needs. This is because of their limited salaries. For example, the person who earns 1000 $ monthly can’t stand the 100 $ as an increase in the petrol price. As a result, he or she would cut one of their needs to cover the life expenses. Furthermore, it is clear that the growth of the cost wouldn’t be the best way for some developing countries which can’t provide alternative transportation at an affordable payment. A key reason for this is that the cost of providing those kinds of facilities is very high. For instance, according to a recent study by Sultan Qaboos University, approximately 45% of countries haven’t convenient transportation. In conclusion, I generally disagree that increasing of petrol price is a beneficial method to reduce pollution and traffic jams. In contrast, I believe that the development of the public transport network and the use of eco-friendly vehicles can solve the air pollution and traffic jams better.