Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

The use of bicycles as form of transportation has been on a downward trend in the recent times. I will explain the reason for the decline and how can we push more people to use bicycles. In the near past around 30-40 years ago, people mostly used bicycles as a form of transportation, not only for short distances but also long distance. This was due to the low cost of owning and operating a bicycle compared to other means transport. Buying a bicycle was relatively cheap compared to cars or plane and by that time cars were only bought by the rich and royalties. But today cars have become affordable for the general public and schemes such as loans have enable people to buy cars. Most roads that are built today, focus more on the structure of a car and leaving little to no space for people to use bicycle. Such factors have played a huge role in reducing the number of bicycle users in the world. Another reason why bicycle use has dwindled is due to the association of bicycle with a lower social class. People believe that when you own a bicycle, it is because you cannot afford to buy a car. This atitude towards bicycles have reduced it's owerniship as most of the people dont want to be assumed poor. Ways in which we can increase the use of bicycles is through educating people the importance of bicycle to our health compared to other means of transport. When cycling your body burns a lot of calories for energy, which is important to reduce the risk of obesity and thus improving our health. Creating awareness on how the bicycle conserves the enviroment compared to other means of transport. Cars, planes and trains produce excessive carbon dioxide which harmfull to environment but bicycle has zero emission, this can encourage people to use bicycles more so as to conserve the environment. The increase on usage of bicycles have good results both to our body and environment. With its increase we can see positive outcome.