Some educators believe that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing interest in teenagers learning music. Many teachers argue that all pupils should be trained on how to use musical instruments. I completely agree with this notion to a great extent, and I will delineate my reasons in this essay, supported with relevant examples. To begin, the reason why I believe children should be taught how to play musical instruments is because it influences their focus and concentration. That is, to ensure accuracy in the notes, rhythms and patterns, a child requires his utmost concentration to play guitar, piano etc. This improves the way he concentrates, not just in music, but also in school work. For instance, research was carried out in a school in my local community in Nigeria. The academic performances of all the students from grade one to grade nine were assessed. The result showed that the pupils who learnt and played musicals performed better in class from lower grades than the ones who did not play. This clearly proves that playing the instruments is of benefit to children. Furthermore, another reason why I agree that students should be trained on how to play the music equipment is because it fosters their social and emotional development. This means that playing piano etc.improves how they express their emotions, which leads to their emotional intelligence over time. Additionally, attending a group class, band practice or playing in orchestra, would help them build their team work, social and collaboration skills. For example, a fourteen-year-old Joe, who grew up in self inflicted seclusion from the outside world. His parents consulted a psychologist, who advised him to join a music club in school. Joe learnt music and started to play piano. He told his heartbreaking story to the world, one that he neither told his parents nor the specialist. Also, within a year of joining the club, he had made lots of friends, and felt better than earlier years of his life. This indeed demonstrates the need to teach youngsters how to play musicals. In conclusion, with the rise in academic expectation of our students and an increase in the rate of independence within the younger generation, I support that musical instruments should be incorporated into their schools’ extracurricular activities for everyone because this will positively influence their concentration in school as well as facilitate their social and emotional growth.