In Britain, when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the UK, when a person becomes old, they often go to live in a house with other elderly people, and there are nurses to take care of them. Sometimes state has to pay for this nursing. I personally feel that the government should take responsibility for this payment, not the family because these old people have already contributed to the family and the economy, and most of the time the expenses of looking after an old person are high, and the family cannot bear it. The state should pay for the nursing of old people because they have a lot of contribution to the family and the economy. When these old people were young, they were responsible citizens. They worked, earned and paid taxes, which allowed them to look after their families and the economy and their taxes enhances the development of the country. For instance, in Australia, the government shares around 80% of the spendings of nursing of each old person in age-care home and that expenditure comes from the paid taxes of that old person. In addition, the cost of taking care of elderly people is exorbitant and only families should not pay that huge amount of money. If a family has to afford the entire expenses of taking care of an elderly person, that will be a huge financial strain for them. As a result, the nursing of the old person will experience neglect. For instance, in Bangladesh, some old people experience severe neglegence in their later lives because they are abandoned by their family members because their family cannot cover the medical and nursing cost of them. In conclusion, I feel that the government should take responsibility for the nursing expenses of elderly people because the spendings are so high to be fully covered by the families and old people deserve to be treated free of cost afforded by the government because they have already contributed to their families and the country.