Some people believe that countries should produce food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some people that nations should feed their citizens through their own food production and should try to import food in the minimum quantity possible. This essay completely disagrees with the above statement because feeding countries' own population would restrict the economic growth of nation and little imports would not allow people to experience a variety of food from all over the world. To grow the economy of a country, food should be exported to different parts of the world. This is because distribution of food in various nations would help a country make a good amount of money by selling them at the better price available that would as a result help to boost the financial situation of a nation. For example, some developing nations like India and Bangladesh export large quantity of their staple food and help to increase the overall economic condition. Also, experiencing a variety of food would be possible if nations would start to import food in large quantities. This is to say that citizens would be able to enjoy different quality of food from all around the world as most of the regions in the world does not have favorable climatic conditions to support the production of food such as wheat, rice, coffee and many other produces. For example, all around the world India transports rice as its staple food all around the world and help people around the world to taste the best quality food. In conclusion, I completely disagree that nations should only feed their own citizens because it would not allow them to prosper their economic conditions, and that imports should not be confined to little quantity as it would allow people to taste different foods all over the world.