Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this technological era, computer is a go-to equipment for every use. It is commonly observed that people are playing online games frequently in their spare time. While this might be because they need to refresh themselves from a tiring day, it is a negative development as this contributes to sedentary lifestyle, and sometimes cause anger issues which leads to problems in their relationships with closed ones. After working long hours, usually adults need some kind of activity to be rejuvenated. Some of them prefer playing computer games as it is not very tiring, which does not include any physical work. These games are designed in a way that people get hooked to them and makes it harder to resist. Especially after the pandemic of Covid-19, it became more common to be at our homes and play these games. Additionally, there are numerous games which enables a person to make teams with their friends. This is a way of connecting virtually with their mates for many people who cannot meet personally because of long distances or busy schedules. For instance, during Covid-19, an online game named PUBG got very famous in India, and gamers spent hours and hours while they had restrictions to go out and meet friends. Although games are a great way to connect with mates, I believe it is a negative development because this leads to less intimate relationships, and to sedentary lifestyles. People generally work on their computers at their workplaces and should engage in physical activities like Badminton, Hockey or swimming, etc. This will help them to be healthy and fit. Online games also are sometimes very violent which makes adults more anxious and short-tempered because of the hormones released. This can also have a negative impact on their friendships and relationships with their families. For example, many couples usually have fights because the boyfriend/husband gets involved a lot in playing and does not spend time with their partners. In conclusion, many grown-ups prefer playing online games with their friends to be refreshed. This is a negative progress because it leads to unhealthy lifestyle by sitting for long hours and sometimes to issues in their relationships. People should rather play physical sports to stay fit and refresh. According to me, everything is good in moderation and playing on computer should be fine sometimes, but not on a regular basis.