Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an ongoing interest in the commercialization of cultural tourism. Most museums fix a charge for visitors before admission while others do not. This practice has both benefits and drawbacks, but the question now is which takes precedence over the other. I believe that the merits exceed the demerits. I will extensively analyze both sides of the consideration, and delineate the reasons for my opinion, supported with relevant examples. To begin, one crucial advantage of monetizing visits to museums is the financial benefit obtained. That is, when visitors buy tickets before entering museums, it generates local revenues and income. These can be utilized in the maintenance, staffing, as well as innovation of this setting. Despite the impact of visitors on the facility, particularly due to overcrowding, the generated income helps maintain a sustainable environment for future visits. For example, surveys carried out in the “War Museum” located in Umuahia, Nigeria, showed that the operations and payments of staff members depended to a great extent, on funds generated from ticket sales. This clearly shows that visitors’ payments anchor the functioning of this place. However, although there are more outstanding merits linked to mandating tourists to pay before entering a museum, it is also necessary to consider possible critiques from the public, which is a notable downside of this practice. To buttress this, one main reason why people take trips to the museum is for educational purposes, which means that mainly students take part in it. The need to pay, without sufficient funds, can deter institutions or a student from participating in this informative and academic excursion. This has sparked criticism from the public. For instance, subjective studies conducted in the southeastern part of Ghana revealed that about 90% of the population was against commercializing cultural arts, including museums. This demonstrates that a significant proportion of the public disapprove of this operation. In conclusion, in spite of negative reviews from local populations which is the main drawback associated with ticket sales at museums, benefits such as financial gain prevails. I believe creating an awareness about the need for these charges will address the issue of public condemnation, and permit general approval.