Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a growing debate about whether someone should learn a foreign language if they are not going to travel or work abroad. Some people believe that those are the only reasons to learn a second language, while others argue that there are many more. My personal view is that there are certainly more benefits of learning a foreign language. On the one hand, some claim that there are only two reasons to learn a second language, if someone wants to visit and if someone wants to work in one specific country. For people with no such plans, it is not worth the trouble, since learning a foreign language could be extremely difficult and time and energy consuming from time to time. Unfortunately, this minority cannot see any other benefit of learning a second language. On the other hand, fortunately, the majority can imagine the extra merits of learning a second language. Among the most important of all, for example, is that you are able to make international friendships. Being able to speak only your local language cannot communicate with visitors in your country and making new foreign friends is nearly impossible. All in all, the debate about whether someone should learn a second language if they do not have plans to visit another country has gained interest. There are two different views, some claim that there are not any other advantages of learning a foreign language, while others disagree. Personally, I completely agree that there are much more benefits like speaking a foreign language could make international friendships easier.