‘It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A plethora of individuals, including myself, believe that it is fundamental for immigrants to gain knowledge about the cultural and historical background of the places they chose to move to. This point of view has developed due to the solid points that will be mentioned in this essay. Firstly, it is undeniable that when a person decides to live in a certain nation, they become an essential part of its community. Thus, they have to put some effort in learning more about its history because history is what shaped this community the way they see it today. Not to mention that historical events that a country witnessed could have a great influence on its lifestyle, fashion and cuisines as well. For example, the poverty that hit France in the 19th century due to the brutal ruling of the French King Louis 16th has enforced people to soak unfresh bread with milk as milk was very cheap at that time. This dish has turned from a survival meal to what we call now "Pain Perdue" or the "French Toast" in English. Hence, people who visit or reside in France must know that this country and its people have certainly faced some dark times in their history. This will bring in them a high sense of appreciation for this land and its citizens. It is also unarguable that learning the culture and the language of the place is very important for immigrants. Although English is spoken in most of the countries, it is still crucial for foreigners to grasp the opportunity of learning the language of the places they live in as this will make their life a lot easier and more flexible as they would be able to communicate with their society more effectively without any misunderstanding here and there because people can express themselves better using their mother language. A great example of that would be my personal experience when I travelled to Germany last winter. When I spoke with people in German, they were more helpful and understood everything I asked for with no ambiguity or misconceptions. In conclusion, I strongly believe that immigration requires adapting and coping with the culture and the traditions of the new destination.