Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many kids spend excessive time on mobile phones on a daily basis. Factor affecting this cause are entertainment platforms like games, movies and social media. I think this is largly a negative development because it deviates them from priorities like studies. Smartphones are one of the most necessary devices in this competitive era. Besides being used to call, text and email others, it is also used for entertainment purposes like online video games, streaming movies as well as social media applications. Children spend a lot of time on online gaming and streaming apps like Netflix and Amazon Prime Videos. For example, in many countries, millions of kids play a popular game called 'PUBG' for hours where they play with others players on a global platform because it gives virtual rewards that kids can show off to get online attention. Although it has a few reasonably good usages like YouTube and online study platform, I think it is largely a negative development for followed reasons. The content presented in movies and TV shows is not just unsafe and mature, but alluring, which children's immature minds cannot tolerate. Consequently, they suffer from the lack of concentration and loses focus on studies. Moreover, the concept of online gaming is extremely addictive that they play it day and night. For instance, millions of children in the USA are unable to perform well enough at schools and eventually suffer from mental disease like social anxiety and depression. In conclusion, children spend most of the time behind smartphones for many reasons like online gaming, streaming films and TV series, as well as on social media apps. I believe it is mainly a negative development because the consequences of over usage is highly damaging for their mental well-being.