In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driveless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengares. Do you think the advantages of driveless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is predicted that all cars, buses, and trucks will be fully operated by machine in the future. These driverless vehicles will only contain passengers. In this essay, I will argue how the advantages driverless vehicles can provide outweigh the disadvantages. One of the downsides of having fully automated vehicles is the level of safetiness it can provide compared to the standard vehicles that operated by human. Machines, which highly dependant on the accuracy of electric sensors, can not react to the sudden movements, unlike the human who can response to unexpected situations. For example, it was reported that Tesla, one of the pioneer in driverless cars, had an accident involving pedestrians due to they suddenly crossed the street while the car was going fast. The car did not catch the situation through its sensors and ended up hitting several pedestrians. However, these capabilities can be further improved, so driverless vehicles can be better in reading sudden situations and avoiding traffic accidents. On the other hand, driverless vehicles may be able to reduce the cost of transportation. This is because the remuneration of the drivers, which attributed to more than 30% of the total transportation cost, can be eliminated since the drivers no longer required to operate the vehicles. Furthermore, more people can be accommodated in a trip since there will be no dedicated space for the driver. For instance, the operating cost to run a bus from Jakarta to Bandung was $100, divided into $30 for fuel, $40 for operational, and $30 for the driver compensation. If the driverless bus is utilized in the future, not only the operating cost will be lowered to only $70, the total passengers capacity can also be increased. In conclusion, the development of fully automated vehicles offers advantages and drawbacks. While driverless vehicles may poses us with the risks of traffic incidents, it still benefit us by reducing the transportation costs.