Some claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

A group of individuals believe that the amount of recycled waste from residential places is not efficient and the sole method to gain recycling is to become a legally enforced requirement by governments. I think that assigning regulations related to dealing with waste by authorities based on studies and statistics can significantly improve the recycling habits of a community as they will encourage people to take recycling more seriously, especially if they were accompanied with fines and penalties, and will, in the long term, improve the overall cleaniness of the country's environment. To begin with, enforcing laws related to recycling and dealing with waste can definitly push people to recycle more and take this practice in a serious matter, especially if they added fines to residents who choose to ignore separating recycled material from non-recycled ones. Because when a wrong practice is related to penaltis, it would encourage people to avoid it more. No one would want to pay 200 pounds just because they were lazy not to separate plastic from glass. This will lead to more people respecting the recycling rules and will, indeed, increase the rate of home recycling. In UAE, the government a fining a penalty of 600 AED to anyone who disobays disobey the regulations of recyling. Additionally, getting rid of home waste in the correct methods set by the related authorities could play a vital role in making the streets of the neighborhoods cleaner. Not to mention that providing user-friendly bins in each neighborhood with some guidness to the residents could also help to speed up the process of recycling materials like plastic. For example, Germany has inserted recyling bin units for plastic bottles in many different public places like local supermarkets and train stations with a cash return amounted 1 euro to each plastic bottle. This action has encouraged people to collect and get rid of bottles in these machines just to get the cashback and spiked the amount of recycling as well. In conclusion, recycling from home could be improved by setting the right laws and regulations.