In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In recent years, a significant incline in obesity has been observed and it shows no signs of descent except for their health. I believe the factors contributing to this issue can be inferred from the increase in technological advancement for entertainment and assistance, which can still be tackled with viable solutions. With technology, many people are now able to access a larger source of entertainment. Though this can be used to ease stress from work, most people, especially adolescents, misuse this feature and spend a lot of time on it. This is because those instant gratifications such as video games and shorts are designed to easily produce dopamine, leading to excessive time spent. And since there is not much time left, fitness is often overlooked and replaced with these activities instead. Furthermore, most physical works our ancestors faced are currently being assisted by technology. For instance, we do not need to walk for a long amount of distance anymore as vehicles like cars and buses not only are time -saving, but also reduce the need to use body movement. Consequently, this option is preferably chosen which results in less calorie usage and causes low levels of fitness. However, spreading awareness is capable of solving this issue. With the help of social media, we can create pages and accounts that revolve around fitness. Those accounts are then used to motivate people to participate in the gym and aim to achieve an aesthetic body. Slogans like “reject comfort, embrace discipline” have recently been going around the internet, encouraging viewers to send this message to their relatives while also following those instructions. With this method, obesity can definitely be reduced with more people who pay attention to their health. In conclusion, health and fitness levels are decreasing primarily because of the time wasted on technological entertainment. Therefore, motivations and messages regarding health issues can be spread via social media, creating a more well-functioning and fit body for humans.