In recent years, “responsible tourists” have paid attention to preserving both culture and environment of the places they visit. However, some people say that it is impossible to be a “responsible tourist”. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are ongoing discussions about being responsible while travelling, meaning preserving the cultural and natural assets of the attractions. In my opinion, while it is possible to be largely responsible, by no means could tourists achieve complete responsibility, meaning not cause any impact on the living space. To begin with, a prosperous traveling destination faced higher living costs unavoidably, leading to additional expenditure of the local residents. It is a conceivable outcome of the growing demands based on economic theory, and however, it could still affect locals' standard of living significantly as the side effects of the commercial profits it draws. In addition, the quality of life might be deteriorated further by the crowds as well, since the public and residential areas might be packed with people, resulting in noise pollution and a great deal of trash. For example, citizens in Venice and Barcelona have long been complaining to their governments about these major issues. Additionally, tourists might be viewed as a hindrance when it comes to environmental preservation since the visit itself would potentially compromise biological balance. For instance, the living condition of coral reefs is easily jeopardized by an array of factors, including temperature, pollution and light. Provided there were excessive visitors snorkelling or diving in those areas, it runs a potential risk of damaging natural habitats even with careful preparation since the temperature might be affected. In conclusion, the culture and environment of the popular travelling destinations tend to be damaged to some extent by excessive visits when analyzed on both social and biological levels. As a result, I think it is impossible to expect tourists to be a hundred per cent responsible.