Some people believe the primary purpose of museums is to entertain people, while others believe their purpose is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, museums purpose in the society has become a widely debated issue. Some claim that the main aim of museums is for educational reasons, whereas others argue that the sole purpose is entertainment. Although there are valid arguments on both sides, as education provides knowledge about history, I strongly support the view that museums should be for entertainment purposes, because it does not only exhibits works of art, but also displays cultural scientific display, which attracts tourists. This essay will discuss both perspectives and explain why i believe in entertainment purposes. To begin with, one major argument in favour of museums for educational reasons is that, they enrich learning about various fields, through images and history. Which leads to visual knowledge rather than reading from a novel or watching from TV. A clear example of this is the yearly mid-term excursion provided by the Nigerian government to secondary school students to visit theatres and museums for the purpose of visual education. Subsequently, this has shown a significant increase in knowledge regarding history among students, who take part in this excursion. Therefore, those who support this view believe it plays a crucial role in learning about the past. On the other hand, museums should be for entertaining people because, it portray the rich history through curated exhibits, preserved works of art and knowledgeable tour guides. For instance, a report from the BBC News Africa shows that most people find comfort in museums visits, due to the ability to view history and learn about famous heroes. As a result, many believe museums should be focused on entertaining people. In my opinion, museums are great ways to entertain community, due to their cultural and scientific. Museums are areas of attraction in most countries, such as the London museums, which are famous for the variety of items and history. Moreover, museums attract tourists to the country, which boosts the national economy, through taxation. Therefore, I believe in the entertainment purpose of museums. In conclusion, while some believe that museums should be developd for educational purposes, others argue that entertainment is more effective. However, I firmly believe that it should serve as an entertainment purposes.