Many people believe that formal "pen and paper" examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

The problem of whether or not formal "pen and paper" examinations are not the best mechanism of assessing educational achievements has sparked a heated debate. While some individuals argue that such exams provide a fair and standardized way to evaluate students, I contend that they have a negative impact on learning as they prioritize memorization over understanding which causes unnecessary stress among pupils. There are several factors why people claim that formal written exams are effective, with the main one being that they offer a standardized plan of evaluation. For example, according to Nazarbayev Intellectual Schools' education system, written tests ensure that all students are graded under the same conditions, which helps maintain fairness. Moreover, traditional examinations teach important skills such as time management and discipline. By preparing to the exams, learners start to set timelines in which they prepare for academic exams. I personally believe that "pen and paper" testings are not the best way to evaluate students ' knowledge, which is relatively negative for a few reasons. For instance, such exams encourage memorization rather than critical thinking and creativity. According to studies provided by Stanford University's scientists, about 80% of students can not use their academic knowledge in practice, as their understanding of information is too poor, and it caused by the method of memorization. Many learners focus on memorizing facts to pass exams instead of deeply understanding the subject. Moreover, written exams cause high levels of anxiety, which can affect students ' academic performance. Some students may have excellent knowledge of a subject, but fail to demonstrate it due to stress caused by preparations. It was proved by psychologists of Health Care Organization, who stated that 68% of university and high school students are prone to depression and negative emotions due to traditional examinations. To sum up, considering both the merits and demerits of formal written exams, I strongly disagree that they are the best method of grading. However, recognizing the significance of standardized grading, a combination of different methods, such as project-based learning or practical tasks, would provide a more accurate measure of students ' true abilities.