Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less Sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the course of the last decades, people's eating habits have changed beyond recognition and in the majority of countries citizens tend to consume packaged foods that contain high level of sugar. While increasing the price of unhealthy manufactured products can reduce their sales rate, some other measures, like a well-rounded education to the public and stricter rules, are also effective. Initially, heavy reliance on food and drink that contain high level of sugar, causes chronic health issues such as diabeties and high blood pressure. Therefore, some individuals claim that the best way to resolve this problem is to make sugary items more expensive. Although these products are still available and consumers can purchase them, higher prices deter the customers from choosing them. Nevertheless, it is obvious that there are also other solutions that can be extremely effective to tackle this trend. Firstly, governments should hold some raising public awareness campaigns in order to enhance the people's knowledge on what they are consuming. Secondly, manufacurers should be forced to incorporate a sign that indicates the amount of suger in the package. For instance, in 2016 the UK's government enforced a law that all the packaged food must have a lable that illustrates all the ingredients, and surprisingly more than 60% of customers chose healthier options. In summary, over-utilization of sugary food and drink has created a wide range of health problems all around the world. Although making such products more expensive can play a significant role in preventing people from buying them, it is not the only way and governments should provide free educational events together with enforcing new regulations.