Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Most of the historical corner and museums attract visitors from different areas rather than the local society. Overall, the situation happens because of the lack of interest in the local historical moments from the community. Therefore, the authority should encourage different interesting activities to reintroduce the knowledge and pick up the local people's interest. Most of the time, the visitors come from different regions or countries, for example, the Japanese cave in West Sumatra, Indonesia. Most locals see museums and historical places as tourist attractions. They are not interested in visiting the places more than once. Moreover, the little maintenance of the buildings and interesting activities from the authorities also decrease the locals' interest to bring their families and friends to learn the history of such places. To gain more local interest in visiting museums or historical places, the government has to arrange a well-maintained system and interesting activities to introduce the history behind the areas. Firstly, a clean and well-maintained historical area would attract more local or foreign visitors to come. Once they are inside, some activities such as a theatrical play, short movies, and pictures of the past incidents would engage the guests to learn and be interested of the history. Moreover, there is a higher chance of the visitors to spread the words to their friends and family to explore the historical places. In summary, many locals lost their interest in understanding the history around their area. To tackle this issue, the government and people in charge of historical places and museums need to reintroduce history interestingly.