Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign laguage at the primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantage?

Some professionals argued that learning a second language at the elementary school has advantages for children rather than secondary school. Although this action has some drawbacks like limited practise and extra academic pressure, it also has cognitive benefits and several future opputunities. One the one hand, pupils who start learning a new language in their early stage of life might face a lack of exposure to the language. Without regular interaction with native speakers, students may struggle with certain skills like speaking. For example, many students in non-English-speaking countries learn English from books, so they do not have a chance to learn their real-world usage. Secondly, learning a foreign language at an early age may overwhelm some students who are already trying to grasp fundamental subjects like math and science. Interestingly, students in highly competitive education systems, like those in China, may struggle with stress due to this action. On the positive side, young children have a greater ability to mimic sounds and develop native-like pronunciation. Their brain are more adaptable to new linguistic structures. For example, children who start learning english or French at age around 5-6 often speak with a more authentic accent than those who begin in their teenage years. Beside that, this trend fosters memory, problem-solving skills and creativity not only for children but also elderly age groups. Bilingual children outperform monolingual peers in tasks requiring mental flexibity and attention control. Notably, learning a second language strengths brain connections, and reduce the risk of cognitive decline in old age. In conclusion, while adding a new language in the education system of the primary schools offers significant advantages, adverse effects of this development should not be overlooked.