Competitiveness is generally considered a good quality for people to have in society. Do you think it is a positive development or negative trend ? How does competitiveness affect individuals?

Competition is growing day by day and is considered a good quality for individuals to have in society. I believe that this is largely a negative development. This essay intends to discuss how individuals are affected by competition. There are many reasons why being competitive is imperative. Firstly, if there is no competition in society nobody is going to work hard. Competition is the driving force for people. This motivates people to be better than others. For example, due to competitions we get to know who is best at that skill or task. Moreover, it also encourages individuals to practice more which results in improving their own skills and leads to personal growth. While at the same time there are many disadvantages. To begin with, sometimes competing with others can be very stressful. For example, many children are under contant pressure to win, if they lose, they lose their self esteem as well. Furthermore, if individuals feel that every activity has to be done alone they would not know how to collaborate with others. Consequently, some people are not able to socialise much and communicate clearly. To conclude, although there are many individuals who feel that competition is necessary for our society yet I believe that there more disadvantages of this situation.