IELTS Writing Tsk 2 In poor families, teenagers may have to work part-time as well as study. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this for these teenagers. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

In recent years, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of individuals questioning the merits and demerits of teenagers from poor families having to work part- time as well as obtain an education.On one hand, the benefit of teenagers working is that they can help support their families by sharing the financial stress of paying for school. However, a significant drawback is that by spending their time working students lose valuable time from their studies. To begin, their is an arguement to be made that working young adults help elevate their parents burden by paying for their own education. For example, a study done in 2020 showed that families who had working children were 25% more stable than others. For this reason, it is evident that their is a clear advantage for teens from poor families to work while studying. what is more, working while seeking an education can aslo help these students learn valuable life-skills they would not in school such as time management, better organizational skills and elevated social skill by working in a team. This being the case, it can assumed that earning a salary while obtaining an education has definite positive effects on the individuals social and mental development. Nonetheless, it must be stated that their are clear disadvantages for poor working class students compared to individuals who only have to focus on their education. For instance, students who work immediately after school do not have time focus on their homework as they get busy with work. Therefore it is clear that these young-minds would fall behind in performance when compared their peers. Furthermore, part- time students would have neither the physical nor the mental energy to foucs in school as the next day as they would exhausted from working with some having late night shifts. With this being the case, it can be said working individuals face greater risk of dropping out as they simply cannot balance the work and study life. To conlude, the overwhelming evidence seems to suggest that part- time students from poor families face greater struggles when compared to students from well-off familes whose where they are supported without needing to provide financial assistacne to their parents. However, others myself included, hold the view that working individuals build greater mental strength and obtain invaluable life-skills. From my perspective the cons do not out weigh the pros, as their is a clear line between working and non-working teenagers.