Some countries encourage foreign companies to open a branch office in their country. Many people think that the government should focus on encouraging local businesses to expand rather than inviting foreign businesses to open branches. To what extent do you agree?

Some countries allow international companies to establish new branches in their places, while others argue that local businesses' expansion should be encouraged more. I agree that having more foreign companies in the local areas benefits directly to the host countries because it contributes to economic growth by increasing a higher employment rate and knowledge transfer. Setting up new branches requires a huge number of employees, resulting in job creation. Foreign companies can save their cost by hiring workers who live in domestic areas instead of importing workers from their own countries; thus, they give more opportunities to local people to apply for jobs. As a result, the host country can generate more revenues through those workers and this benefits economic growth. For example, many Japanese factories open new branches in Vietnam so Vietnamese people get a higher rate of being hired and gain more salaries. In additions, host countries can learn new techniques while working with foreign enterprises. International organizations tend to have best practices and solid work instructions that have been proven their efficiency; therefore, following their methods enables local workers to finish tasks efficiently. Due to knowledge transfer, homegrown businesses, moreover, can be fostered to improve their standards to compete strategically with those from other countries. For instance, a chip processors' manufacturer in Taiwan started working with foreign factories before adapting technology learned to open its own company. It finally generates higher incomes than other old-school manufacturers. In conclusion, although many people think that the government should foster local companies to expand their branches, prioritizing foreign enterprises to open new branches in the local areas impacts the host countries positively with knowledge transfer and job creation.