Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A huge number of people think that scientific research ought to be executed and monitored by the government rather than private corporations. I completely agree with this statement as the government is more transparent than the private sector. Consequently, the government is having a community development orientation rather than a profit purpose. The government was designed to be transparent in the democracy era. Furthermore, the government should report their progress to the citizen as they are working based on citizen consent. For example, the result of every public policy are reported on some methods such as websites, scientific meetings and public stages, so the public knows the process of every single policy. Therefore, the government is more likely to be trusted than any other parties, especially the corporation. The main purpose of government is society development. This phenomenon happen because the government's power came from the consent or power of the people. Moreover, it is naive to believe that the government is not pursuing profit. But, the only institution that is mandated by the law in order to build community is the government. For instance, several laws in Indonesia are ensuring government to use public resources that have positive impacts for society. Thus, the government should do something that is related to public such as scientific inventions. in conclusion, the government are instructed to be open to the public and the society's development is also the responsibility of the government. Hence, it is critical for the government to fully control every possible way to develop the community, not to mention the scientific innovations.