Students should be taught to read and write using a computer, as handwriting will not be used in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are debates over how students should learn to read and write. Some people believe that they should be taught by using computers as this is the trend nowadays. Others believe that handwriting should be kept as this is the traditional way of learning. In this essay, I will discuss both views and present my own opinion. There is no doubt that computer writing and reading is conducted by the majority. There are a few advantages, one is efficiency. Typing is usually faster than handwriting and is more accurate because there is auto spelling check function installed in the computer and people would not be confused by the words of handwriting. In addition, with the use of internet, people can send their writing to others in seconds, rather than sending a piece of handwriting by post which could take at least a couple days. Another advantage is more environmental friendly as reading and writing on a computer do not require the use of pen and paper. Hence writing and reading on a computer is the main way of people use nowadays. On the other hand, though handwriting is time consuming and could be using papers and ink, I agree that children should be taught handwriting. First, handwriting is a good practice for children to learn fine motor skills, how to control the pen and their strength in writing words. Second, cards and letters that are written by hand is more meaningful and touching than a piece of typed writing. Lastly, calligraphy is not only a piece of art that is worth preserving, but it is also a hobby and a way of meditation. For instance, it requires peaceful mind and focus in practicing calligraphy which makes people feeling relaxed. To conclude, reading and writing using computers is the main way of life in the modern world because it is efficient and accurate. However, I believe that handwriting is worth preserving as it brings out emotions from reading and writing handwritten words.