Nowadays, as a part of education process, students work at a company for a short period of time without pay. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, most of the educational institutions are implementing compulsory internship period for students without pay to complete their education. Training in this company with supervision before joining the regular job help students to gain experience and skills about the work. In contrast, some companies are exploiting students with higher workloads. In my opinion, disadvantages of unpaid internships outweigh the advantages. On the positive side, mandatory training period enhances vocational skills and helps to gain experience in that particular role. For example, in India MBBS students should have to complete one year of internship in different hospitals in order to attain degree. As a result, students learn practical skills such as assessment of various diseases and treatment techniques. Moreover, superior doctors share their knowledge and experience to juniors which are valuable for their future. Even though they are unpaid for their work, it can be compensated by life skills they learnt. On the negative side, some companies are misusing the internship period by alloting allocating high workloads to the students. For instance, undergraduate engineering students doing unpaid training programs in Multinational companies are exploited by their superiors with giving more work and abusing with unpleasant words. As a result, some poor students are struggling to survive this training period financially and affected mentally. Moreover, companies are not providing proper care and respect to the trainees. In conclusion, even though unpaid internships foster learning hands-on techniques and communication skills, it leads to stress because of high workloads to the students. Moreover, some of them are not properly treated by their superiors. So, in my opinion the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.