In many countries not enough students are choosing to study science at university. What are the causes of this? What effects does it have on society?

In modern society, an insufficient number of students choosing to study in science major has had a demonstrable effect on technological advancements and development. As career opportunities for science graduates are limited, and scientific programs require a long duration of study, fewer college students pursue this field, leading to several effects on society, which this essay will explore. A lack of students studying in science major has been caused by several reasons. Foremost among these is the limited employment prospects after they graduate. Recent graduates from chemistry and biology major can only take a role in either research and development (R&D) or sales in food production or medical-equipment manufacturing companies. The job description of these positions, especially R&D, requires employees to work from a remote area, such as a countryside or suburb where a factory is located. Therefore, those who work in this role might live in separated houses with their families and meet them only two days per week on weekends, which might be the unmotivated reasons for students to study in science major. In addition, science program requires a long duration of study and a significant amount of tuition fees to complete a program. To become an outstanding candidate in science industry, graduates prefer to pursue higher education after graduating from an undergraduate program, since they think it can lead to better career opportunities and higher earnings. However, this higher education, particularly pHD program, takes approximately five to seven years to complete it, which discourages passion of a vast number of students to study in this science field. The possible effect of this problem includes slower technological progress. First of all, addressing pollution issue requires a considerable number of experts to conduct a research, then test and improve their results overtime until they finally got the best method for alleviating this issue. However, insufficient specialists graduating from a scientific field can lead to a slow progress of this discovery; thus, a significant number or citizens would suffer or get sick from the respiratory diseases for a longer time than anticipated. In conclusion, the myriad of reasons why students are not choosing to study science are apparent, this problem has effects on society, should government want to solve them. In my opinion, if governments do not transform scientific program by including non-scientic subjects for expanding career opportunities of new graduates, the repurcussion repercussions on productivities and economic growth of a country will be disastrous.