Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam.” How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?”

In comparison to past decades, we often observed more numbers of private vehicles are causing traffic congestion in urban cities. However, I completely agree with this view that due to incresing socioeconomic status of the individual,more people prefer to buy luxurious cars as daily travel means which results in environmental disturbances in the long-term. Hence, the public workers should consider potential steps to encourage people to use public transport rather than private vehicle to commute. To begin with, in recent years, traffic congestion issue is booming as the number of private vehicles are becoming mode of commute for the community. People nowadays, do impulsive buying of luxurious cars or other vehicles to show their social status to other people. Furthermore, people are not only purchasing but also uses cars in their daily travel purpose which causes ultimately traffic congestion and air pollution in the neighbourhood. For instance, Banglore city has been topped the list as the worst traffic congestion city in India, causes health issues due to air pollution. The government should take precautinary measures to resolve traffic congestion issues. Additionally, the public servent can impose more tax or fees on new purchased vehicles hence, people avoid to buy another vehicle which ultimately discourage people to buy cars and encourage people to use more public transport as their regular commute. This may also contribute to less traffic congestion and also, decreases the air pollution which may lead to further in a healthy nation. To overall, although people buy new cars due to unconcious decision, the government should imply the strict rules of purchasing private vehicles by imposing taxes or fees. Addition to this, they can encourage people to use buses or shared transport services to prevent environmental hazards in the long-term.