In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Urbanization rate is constantly increasing in majority of countries, leaving the rural population falls. While the city area might become highly packed, I firmly believe this will result in positive development of the country. Rising cities' population will support country's development in terms of fulfilling human resources capacity to boost the economy. While it is evident that most countries' economic activities are centralized in city especially metropolitans, many companies has shown poor productivity because of lacking in workforce both quality and quantity. Thus, responding to urbanization rate, increasing human resource will positively increase the competition in business and workplace. In order to survive, people will be enforced to learn and perform better. This will ultimately increase overall performance of companies such as improving sales and revenue, eventually contribute to the country itself. Along the period, population imbalance among city and countryside will shift into an equilibrium stage by itself. However, once this stage happened, the working force would already have gained enough knowledge and skills from cities. In the other side, this population will bring positive impact their circle of influence when they transmigrate back to their initial rural area. Furthermore, this positive influence of education and knowledge can contribute to rural development in terms of economy, infrastructure, health, etc. Overall, movement of rural population into urban areas significantly bring positive impact to the country. Although it is arguable that cities may become overpopulated, periodically, transmigration of population to rural area will happen by itself. Lastly, this will further note the positive development not only in city but also countryside.