Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no b longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Advertisemnets are the most traditional method to persuade the customers to attract to purchase products and it is often considered the most effective sucessfull way by business. However, some argue that advertisements loss their appeal due to overuse leading to lack of attention by consumers. I believe advertisements are still relevant for promoting products if they are designed strategically. Every year companies spend significant amount of thier budget on advertisements as they highly influential on consumers choice. Corporate houses often use persuasive techniques such as celebrity endorsements and emotional stories so that clients tend to relate the products in their daily life boosting the sales. For example, during world cup 2010 Addidas released an advertisements focussing on diversity as it was the first time world cup football staged in Africa which increased their sales more than 20%. The story touched the audience and gained popularity among young people. On the other hand, every day thousands of advertisedments have been released which makes customers overwhelmed with the information often ignoring it. Most of the advertisements follow the similiar pattern and consumers do not feel engaged with them. A recent research by Wall Street Journal showed that 50% of internert users ad blockers considering they are irrelevant. Furthermore, a study by Boston university among online consumers demonstrated that 70% customers never relied on advertisements while purchasing rather put more trust on ratings and reviews. In conclusion, while advertisemnets are often ignored they have potential when they are customised with the customers need. Companies need to adapt with recent trends of their need using unique menthods to engage them with the products. Therefore, advertisements are still powerfull but companies should be innovative maintain the effectiveness of advertisements.