In the past, most working people had only one job. However, nowadays, more and more people have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons for this development? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more than one job?

In today's world, humans are progressing at a fast pace. We have come a long way from learning how to cook to doing scientific inventions. If we look at the present scenario, we find that nowadays, people are becoming more workaholics. Some are doing more than one job. There are various reasons behind this. This essay will discuss the possible reasons and the pros and cons of having more than one job. To begin with, In the past, the overall price of goods and services was comparatively low. Anybody can survive easily with just labour work or working on daily wages.The competition was low, and so was the economic condition. However, in the current scenario,adults have to compete with a number of other candidates to secure a job even if it's a low-paying part-time job. For instance, when I was applying for part-time job, there were eight more candidates for the same role, and that too, for a very small restaurant which was paid on a minimum basis.Increasing population can be a major cause of this problem. In addition to this, with the invention of new technology such as robots, the risk of getting fired is increasing day by day. This forces employees to look for a backup plan or to have job security. There are several pros of having more than one job. Firstly, it gives money which gives financial stability. Having two sources of income helps in early retirement. It eliminates poverty. For example, if a person is earning from two jobs, he or she can pay off all the bills and there will be no debt. It also decreases crime, such as theft which was done earlier to feed the family.There are several cons associated with this such as overworking. It leads to diseases and health effects in the long term. Working two jobs means spending less time with the family.It creates zero work-life balance. To conclude, there are several factors that force employees to work more than one job including economic conditions and competition.The pros of this situation are financial stability but it has its own negative effects as well. Such as having zero work-life balance.