It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In recent days, consumers have become more inclined towards online shopping or large superstores as they usually sell their products in bulk and give incentives for each which is comparatively beneficial for people who shop from small local shops. Thus, Local shop merchant faces more trouble in attracting public and unable to gain profit. This can be improved if people get aware of conscious shopping and extend their support to buying goods from small retailers. To begin with, small shop saler have selective products as they make limited purchases and set profit margins according to their buying price which is quite higher than online retailers and large grocery stores. Hence, people get more attracted to large shops that normally offer good incentives and sale in bulk items. For instance, Costco is a large retail store that has all different categories and products available. They sell mostly in bulk and also, offer goods at a cheaper price than the private shops. So, people prefers to buy from large stores to get more items in affordable price. This affects the local shop merchant market and they face trouble to survive in a competitive market. To resolve this, the government or media can intervene and put advertisements to guide the community to buy goods conciously and do not fall for lucrative offers of bulk buying products. Also, people can extend their goodwill and make the decision to shop local products from the small shops as it would be beneficial to seller and buyer. Thus, people can save up more money and avoid unnecessary buying contrary, saler gets profit and their businesses will grow. To conclude, smaller business can be affected due to less product availibilty with higher prices compared to the large stores. The government or media can spread awareness to the community to shop smartly and support small businesses.