In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

People have longer lives than we used to have in multiple countries. This phenomenon comes with benefits and drawbacks for the increase in aging population, leading to a discussion about the comparision between these two aspects. In my opinion, the elderly creating positive impact societies in two ways. First, the senior acquires precious life lesson which is valuable to be passed down to the next generation. Not only for the knowledge but the history could be taught by them. They have experienced the societies we don't have the chance to see in preson. However, we can record them with the modern technology to memorize the the passed events which is meaningful to teach schoolchild how we as human get into the world and different cultures in countries around the world and ritual we have now. In addition, the aging population serve as extra workforce. Despite the average longer lifespan for human, the numbers of workers are declining. The factors of economic consideration and individualist concept becoming the mainstream trend among societies, fewer and fewer newborn babies in the recent years, leading to the probelm of inadequate number of employees in the workplace. Therefore, aging population could become the source of maintaining the source of the employment market. For example, there are increasing advertisement of hiring the elderly to provide the workforce for the clerks in supermarket, chain store, and even convenience stores.The extension of employment age is one of the methods to tackle with the problem of insufficient workforce. The aging population bring disadvantages as well. If the health of the elderly wasn't affordable to the work, they might cause a lot more resource to provide medical assistance and people to take care of them. Under such circumstances, there is fewer benefits to gain from the growing aging population. Overall, I think if most of the people maintain healthy life, then the seniors wouldn't be burden to the societies. They become treasure for the development of human history instead.