In today's competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents to go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents’ absence. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the globalising era, many parents attend work to support their families. Some people believe that if both parents are engaged in employment, it will be beneficial to the families, while others disagree with this statement and say it can cause negative consequences for children. However, in my opinion, both the parent should seek paid employment. This essay will analyse the notion in the ensuing paragraphs. As we all are aware the price of basic commodities is on the uprise,and a rise in family income would assist the parents in managing their daily household budget. An increase in the family income is not only beneficial to the parents, but also to the children. One main advantage is that the children receives better educational opportunities, thus securing a good future. In addition, parents can provide good health care and living conditions to their children, without compromising on nutritious foods. The children can participate in extra-curricular activities and families can go for vacations and spend time together through leisure activities. A majority of children from the age of 4 attend school, therefore parents staying back at home without work to look after children do not heavily impact on their development. Children can learn at school, meanwhile parents can work to get paid. On the other hand, one drawback that I could point out is that children between the ages of 0 to 4 may not get sufficient attention from parents as it is considered as the prominent time period for kid's emotional and cognitive development. However, in many countries, government has taken initiatives to support parents with paid maternal leave. In countries such as Finland and Norway, women are entitled to paid maternal leave up to 3 or 4 years and men with 12-18 months. It is very clear that money plays an important role in the smooth functioning of a family. Considering all the factors mentioned earlier, I would strongly suggest both the parents earn.