It is the government's responsibility to provide financial support to old people after they retire or individuals should save money for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is an ongoing debate whether governments should be responsible for the financial support of elderly citizens or whether people should take care of themselves by managing their money wisely. This essay will discuss both views and explain why both government support and individual financial management are equally important for a secure retirement. On the one hand, many believe that it is the government’s duty to financially support elders after they retire because this can enhance the quality of life and equality among citizens. Many older people do not have their own children to support them and job opportunities for elderly people are limited. Moreover, according to rising inflation rate, the cost of living has become much higher. As a result, elders might not be able to access essential necessities, affecting directly their well-being. However, the governments should limit their support only for crucial services and basic infrastructures such as housing and healthcare services. On the other hand, it is also crucial for individuals to manage their money wisely in order to live with desired retirement. People should be aware that when they cannot gain more money, they will have to rely on their savings or past investments. For example, if they want to spend extra money on luxuries such as special bag collections or art toys, it will be their responsibility to plan their finances effectively. Therefore, personal financial management also plays a vital role in the later lives after retirement. Many elders can live well and travel around the world without any concerns about expenses because they already have financial stability that they have prepared since they were young, allowing them to experience and live in their own ways. In conclusion, both support from the government and individuals' financial management are equally crucial for having a good life after retirement. While governments should support their people to be able to afford essential services and access basic infrastructures, citizens should manage their finances wisely to ensure a secure and comfortable life.