Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much influence on our personality and development than any experiences we have in our life.

Study states that an individual’s natural characteristics are far more influential than experience can shape people’s traits and development in their later lives. However, I believe that people’s personalities are more likely to be influenced by their experiences and their parent’s parenting. The primary reason why inborn characteristics can be affected by education and work experience. School is one of the places to shape their inner traits such as some individuals are selfish and uncooperative, however, the school contains a variety of group work which aims students learn how to cooperate with others. Moreover, the workplace also influences people to behave such as people who are waitresses and they need to treat customers politely. They understand that they need to suppress their real emotions, otherwise, they will be fired by their employer. In addition, parenting styles are one of the reasons that influence their natural characteristic. This is because people are being taught by their parents to be polite, especially children who are born with a controlled father and mother. If their children’s behaviour upsets their parents, then they will get punishment by their caretakers. Therefore, under this circumstance, children learn to be obedient in order to reduce punishment. For example, some children are born with aggressive traits, however, their aggressive behaviour will decline if they are taught with a high-pressure atmosphere. In conclusion, innate characteristics are not the major factor influencing their personalities, learning in school and the workplace, and parenting styles are the major factors.