Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With the increasing popularity of museums and art galleries, whether they should be free of charge or not has drawn much discussion amongst the general public. Personally, I am inclined to the view that the merits of charging for entry outweigh the drawbacks. One of the main reasons for charging fees is that the building and the maintenance costs of major museums and art galleries are tremendous. Undoubtedly, by charging a reasonable entry fee, it can help cover the cost incurred as a result of day-to-day activities such as utility bills, maintenance costs, renovation, and staff costs. For example, the louvre musuem would not be able to keep current service quality to visitors If these costs were not covered. Consequently, charging an admission fee seems very practical to creating better museums and galleries. However, there are downsides associated with admission fees, one of which is that some members of the community may not afford entering the facilities. This is particularly the case if poor members of society are unable to afford to visit these places. It seems a great setback if children and economically disadvantaged people are unable to benefit from the cultural experiences these venues provide. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the benefits of an entry fee, in terms of funding maintenance and expansion outweigh the downsides such as limited access for the poor.