Learning English language at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local language and, if so, how?

There's no doubt that learning English today, more than ever, is one of the most valued skills in university and employment. Many schools tend to emphasize English more than any local language, even if this language is spoken in the community. Some argue that it is necessary to teach them to ensure their prevalence, which I agree with, but not that their teaching should be part of compulsory education. The fundamental mission of a school will always be to best prepare its students to face life. In addition, studies from the University of California indicate that learning English increases the chances of finding work by 40 percent, not to mention that more than 80% of academic information, is in English. The importance of learning English, is clearly explained by the opportunities and facilities it can open up for students later in life. However, there is always room to learn a local language, for example, in a workshop or elective. I don't think it should be the responsibility of schools to promote a language to prevent it from disappearing. Municipalities and local authorities can do so through other measures such as cultural activities, public interventions, etc. In conclusion, the educational agenda must be guided by useful and practical standards, that aim for excellent education. In this sense, English is an indispensable tool for success. Although local languages ​​are an important part of preserving a culture, they cannot be equated with other educational learning, and it is the responsibility of other institutions to give them greater visibility.