The use of cell phones (mobile phones) has increased rapidly in the twenty-first century. Additionally, cell phones can now be used for many purposes besides making phone calls. What are the advantages and disadvantages of cell phones? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As the world continues to evolve, it is safe to say that technology has come to play a major role in its development and advancement. A significant feature is the increased usage of mobile phones in our current society brought on by diverse functions it can provide other than being just a means to make calls. In this essay, I will talk about the pros and the cons of increased mobile phone usage in our current generation and how this affects us as a society. Firstly, as a Software Support Agent, I can firmly agree that the diverse functions of a mobile phone has made working in this century easier. With my phone, I can join meetings alongside my colleagues from different parts of the world. I can respond to emails and chats swiftly without the need to log into my work profile on my laptop, and also, perform certain job roles on the spot. My phone is like my personal assistant, connecting me to various activities and keeping me informed of the latest activities around the Globe. In many fields, mobile phones can be seen as a work station or a mini laptop. For example, content creators who use their phones for content making on social media platforms, online classes where mobile phones are used to join study sessions and take notes, PAs (Personal Assistants) who use their phones as their scheduling tool for meetings, projects and task assignment, and, basically anybody who needs a window to the world outside their current environment. Additionally, to butress my stance above, mobile phones have simplified the process of certain functions that in the previous centuries would have been a hassle to access. Contacting emergency services, monitoring your home security footage, controlling your electric cars, controlling your home applicances etc.. All these and more are why the advancement of mobile phones is a great cause, however, we cannot ignore the negative effects it has caused. There would always be two sides to a coin and the positive impacts of mobile phones comes with its negative sibling. Due to how much we have integrated the use of mobile phones into our daily activities, it has reduced us into a population devoid of personal human interaction. Personal relationships have disintegrated into calls and texts, waiving the need to personally communicate with another person. We now prefer the convenience of a video call over the inconvenience of an outing with friends or a text over the need to communicate in person with a loved one. We also cannot ignore the overload of information that the increased usage of phones bring about. Children now have access to online materials and articles that are detrimental to their mental health and emotional intelligence because of easy access gotten via a mobile phone. In conclusion, we cannot deny the need for a mobile phone. Its everyday use in our lives cannot be underestimated but we need to moderate the impact in our personal relationships and remove the instances where actual interactions are replaced by technology advancement.