In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there has been significant increase in human lifespan in many countries. While some individuals argue that ageing population brings challenges for governments, others contend that it has numerous benefits for society. In this essay will be presented in what degree advantages of older individuals outnumber the drawbacks of them in society. A significant benefit is the extensive wisdom and experience that older individuals have, which can be shared with younger generations. Having navigated various life events and overcome many difficulties, they can provide important guidance to juveniles on how to solve similar challenges, that older individuals have been experienced. Moreover, the older population is a great source of national culture and history. For instance, teenagers in my nation have the chance to gain deeper historical notion through dealing with older people who were involved in various significant events. On flip side, the ageing population needs more treatment service and help from goverment's side. It is evident that senior people need more social programs, such as financial and health aid to live a comfortable life. Therefore, the more older the person becomes, the more protection they may require. For instance, the government needs to develop new law on senior people protection to provide greater financial aid and it obviously requires additional money to be added to the local or federal budget. In conclusion, while it is acknowledged that an ageing population may present certain challenges for governments, the benefits of an increased number of elderly individuals should not be ignored. The knowledge and insights older people contribute to society and their skills as navigators and leaders are crucial for a community. Thus, it can be argued that the benefits of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages.