In many countries, sports stars earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that sports stars earn too much money, while others claim that they deserve their high salaries. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In many parts of the world, sports are very popular which makes the sportspersons earn fat salaries. While one section of society believes they rightfully deserve this money, other section of society believes they are being overpaid. I will discuss both viewpoints with their merits and dismerits. We have seen that many successful players and athletes earn huge sums of money. For instance, many tennis and football legends, such as Ronaldo, Messi, Federer, Nadal, rake in millions of dollars every year. These extravagant salaries increase the gap between high-ranking players and low-ranking players. Much of the money goes to top players and there is so less money left for other players. For instance, in tennis championships, top two players get 80% of the bounty while other players just get enough to make their ends meet. This skewed pay structure justifies the view that top players get too much and it should get restricted in some way. On the other hand, if we oberve keenly, we find that successful players are extremely disciplined, and industrious, grinding innumerable number of hours in the field to practice, and hone their skills. They had to sacrifice a lot of their personal life from their childhood to the adoloscence to be the epitome of success. Their careers are usually short, only lasting few years of their prime. We need to consider that the wealth accumulated during this short span has to sustain them for their retirement life as well. Considering all these factors, we can not deny that they do not deserve all the fame and money. To conclude, while both viewpoints have their merits, I align myself with the view that it takes both talent and personal sacrifice to achieve the level of success that some sports stars enjoy and they truely deserve the high salaries that they earn.