Some people say economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger, while others say economic growth is damaging the environment and must stop. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

An arising concern in recent decades relates to whether the development of the economy is the only solution to solve poverty and hunger or it should be stopped as it may be harmful to the environment. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of this argument and then give my own perspectives. On the one hand, there are people believing that the only way to end poverty and the lack of food is to enhance the economy. First of all, more opportunities with stable income will be created for residents, which is a chance for them to be lifted out of poverty. In addition, in a growing economy, local authorities are able to have more budget to invest in multiple aspects such as healthcare, education or transportation aiming to improve living standards. On the other hand, economic growth is also considered to threaten the environment. Firstly, industrialization is the main reason causing air, water or soil pollution as well as global warming. As a result, it will not only negatively affect human life, but also threaten the ecosystems and the natural habitats of wildlife species. Moreover, to operate the factories, natural resources such as fossil fuels, forests or minerals are uncontrollably exploited which may lead to depletion. To sum up, I suppose that each aspect has its merits. However, I still hold a strong belief that there are multiple alternative methods to develop the economy in a sustainable way which are less harmful to the environment.