Child obesity is an increasing problem in Australia. As many as two third of the children are obese. School have responsibility to monitor what their students are eating and amount of their exercise. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In this current world, child obesity is an increasing problem, also in developed countries such as Australia. It is believed that schools have the responsibility to monitor what the youngest are eating and how much they are exercising. Analysing the statement, a combined approach between parents and educational institution is the best way to decrease this challenge. I agree with the shared responsibility. Firstly, obesity is a chronic disease that brings a variety of consequences to individuals, especially if they are in childhood. For instance, it is widely known that obese children have more chance to develop heart diseases, diabetes and hormone imbalance than healthy young people. Happily, this is changing with programs such as "Crunch and Sip", which Australian schools promote fruit and vegetable consumption. Therefore, this makes it clear that encouraging students to a healthy lifestyle it is possible to decrease child obesity. On the other hand, parents also have the responsibility in this process because the youngest reflects family behaviour. For example, if guiders make consistently unhealthy choices, children are more likely to do the same. This proves the importance of a parental influence highlighting that schools cannot fully control the effect of negative parental modelling. Thus, it is agreed that family and educational institutions have a big role in children's health and, due to this, they need to act together. In summary, child obesity is a big concern in our contemporary time. I totally agree with shared responsibility, which requires a collective effort from schools and parents. This collaborative approach is essential to solve the health of our future generations.