Many people today work long hours, leaving them with little time for leisure activities. Why is this happened? What problem does it cause?

As inflation increases in many countries, financial stress causes citizens to work tremendously long hours, which lowers their time to participate in recreational activities. This trend causes a lot of consequences, such as deteriorating health and weakened relationships among family members. One vital point that needs to be understood is the inflation in many countries nowadays. Due to the world going through a financial crisis, the necessities prices rose significantly, but in contrast, the salaries did not increase or even decrease among some companies. As a result, in order to pay those fundamentals, vast amounts of money are needed by workers, so overtime work is the best choice for them. One consequence of working overtime is a decline in health. That is to say, when toiling, more energy is devoted to work, leaving little to no time for exercise, which results in a significant decrease in overall health quality. Additionally, excessive work hours often lead to high levels of stress, which can weaken the immune system and increase the risk of illnesses such as heart disease and hypertension. For example, a study on corporate employees found that those who consistently worked more than 50 hours per week were more likely to suffer from chronic fatigue and stress-related health issues compared to those with a balanced work schedule. Another consequence of working overtime is harming family relationships. That is to say, if a person spends the whole day working, they are too exhausted to do anything. With that in mind, grinding reduces the communication time for people in their society. This causes detrimental effects on family relationships. For example, research shows that New York citizens devoted half of their time working every day and the happiness rates declined. This shows the disastrous effect of burning the midnight oil. In conclusion, as inflation increases, doing double duty is needed to conserve quality of life. However, this causes bad effects such as health deterioration and reduced family relations.