Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

During the last decade relationships between parents and their children have changed. Nowadays every child can choose what they want to do, to wear, to eat. In fact, a significant number of individuals think that this decision can lead to results when an adult will think just about their problems in the future. Their opponents strongly agree that teenagers who know what they want will be more effective in their future life. This essay will explore this phenomenon in more detail, supported by relevant examples. First of all, I would like to admit that understanding of your own wishes is a crucial life skill not only for young children but also for adults. I believe that the person,who can make a choice, is more confident in their power. I guess this option can help in society as well as in personal life. For example, two of my friends grew up in opposite families. One of them, Jeremy, has made everything what his mom wanted. Now he doesn’t have a family, his work is not interesting, his life is boring and he can’t change it. Another friend, Tommy, has parents who have given him freedom during his childhood. In the present moment he is a happy husband and father of two sons, his work is interesting and high-paying. On the other hand, juveniles who have liberty in inadequate amounts can become a self-centered person. Moreover, pathological freedom can lead to violation of the law. However, if children have to grow up in the strict environment, without choosing, they will not understand their demands. Therefore, they will not have their own life in the full sense. In conclusion I would like to summarize that freedom is a very flexible way. I strongly agree that children should live in an adequate environment with enough freedom for their natural development.