Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Environment is on of the greatest gifs to mankind. However it is slowly degrading due to advancement and discovery of various materials. Plastic is one of those materials. Damages such as land pollution and harming wild life through entanglement and ingestion are progressively rising. Educating people about plastic pollution and switching to using more biodegradable materials can help culminate better surroundings. This essay elaborates on this topic. To begin with, most plastic is made of polyethylene, which is a very harming agent. These substances when discarded takes years to decompose posing a threat to the land, leading to soil erosion. Furthermore use of plastic containers is also contagious to health. It is said to release chemicals in the food which when consumed can even lead to cancer. For illustration, a study conducted by WHO showed that 70% of population suffering with colon cancer had a history of using polyethylene bottles and containers. In addition to that, animals are said to consume plastic which leads to instant death. Birds getting entangles and suffering helplessly is another danger that it poses. There are some steps which can be taken by the government, such as educating people about the demerits of using plastic products on a daily basis. Moreover making sure that more biodegradable substances are used when it come to making bottles and containers. This will consequently lead to a better and healthier environment. Additionally recycling plastic should be mandatory and people who do not comply with this should be punished. In conclusion, polyethylene wastage is rising, but with proper measures such as awareness campaign and implementing recycling procedures, this issue can be handled efficiently.